Request for comments from research funding organisations

Analysis of openness in the activities of research funding organisations in 2016

This preliminary analysis of openness in the activities of research funders in 2016 is part of the Ministry of Education and Culture's Open Science and Research Initiative (ATT). The final analysis is to be published in November 2016.
The purpose of this analysis is:

  • To establish a clear picture of the current level of national research funding organisations' (RFO) openness
  • To compare the results with selected European and Nordic RFOs
  • To identify strengths and weaknesses in promoting openness
  • To identify areas that require support and cooperation

This is a preliminary evaluation of openness in the activities of research funders. In 2015, a similar preliminary analysis was made of Finnish universities, universities of applied sciences and research institutions. In 2016, we evaluate also Finnish university hospitals and research funders. The preliminary report includes the following European funders:

  • FWF (Austrian Science Fund)
  • Horizon 2020
  • Interreg Baltic Sea Region
  • NordForsk
  • The Research Council of Norway
  • Vinnova
  • The Swedish Research Council
  • Danish National Research Foundation

We kindly request You to comment and correct, if needed, the information and interpretations concerning Your organisation. We kindly ask You to review the preliminary report (1) and data (2). The original request letter (3) is also listed for easy reference:

  1. Preliminary report (.pdf)
  2. Preliminary data (.xlsx)
  3. Original request letter (.docx)

For all indicators, data was limited to each organisation's external (public) website. The international funders' comparison material was collected in August-September 2016. A local copy of the web page or document was made for archival purposes.

We would be grateful if You could send your comments by 14th October 2016, 16.15 (EET) to the following e-mail address:


For more information, please contact:

  • Juha Haataja, Counsellor of Education, Finland's Ministry of Education and Culture,
  • Sami Niinimäki, Senior Advisor, Finland's Ministry of Education and Culture,
  • Eeva Kaunismaa, Senior Advisor, Finland's Ministry of Education and Culture,
  • Pirjo-Leena Forsström, Secretary General, CSC - IT Center for Science Ltd,